About P.A.D.



: Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity, International is a professional law fraternity advancing integrity, compassion and courage through service to the student, the school, the profession and the community.

VISION: We are the preeminent law fraternity promoting the bonds of fraternalism, and we are the leader in the development and advancement of professional ideals. 

PURPOSE:The purpose of this Fraternity shall be to form a strong bond
uniting students and teachers of the law with members of the Bench and Bar in a fraternal fellowship designed to advance the ideals of liberty and equal justice under law; to stimulate excellence in scholarship; to inspire the virtues of compassion and courage; to foster integrity and professional competence; to promote the welfare of its members; and to encourage their moral, intellectual, and cultural advancement; so that each member may enjoy a lifetime of honorable professional and public service.



Copy_of_Copy_of_Learn_About_our_History__4_.png Copy_of_Copy_of_Learn_About_our_History__3_.png Copy_of_Copy_of_Learn_About_our_History__2_.png

Phi Alpha Delta was the first law fraternity to...

Open membership to all genders, races, creeds and national origins.

Host one of the largest Mock Trial Competitions for law students in the country.

Conduct a “Senior Transition Program” for pre-law students entering law school.

Establish a Pre-Law Program to assist undergraduate students interested in the law.

Hold P.A.D. Day at the Supreme Court, a day designated for P.A.D. attorneys to be admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court.

Win a CFEA Award for Excellence in the highly-competitive multimedia category for the P.A.D. History Video.

Implement an on-line membership database for networking students and alumni/ae together.

85.png 10_000__6_.png 85__1_.png 10_000__5_.png
Average Number of New Members Per Year Number of P.A.D. Members that are Current U.S. Supreme Court Justices Members of the International P.A.D. Network Number of established Pre-Law, Law, and Alumni Chapters


Bound together by tradition and our common interest in the law, we share these core values.


P_A_D__Crest.png Untitled_design__27_.png GreekLettersOfficial.jpg SoS_carnation_2017-01.png


ln 1966, an award was established by the then Supreme Executive Board, now the International Executive Board. Known as the Distinguished Service Chapter, the award was incorporated into the Constitution by a subsequent Convention.

The Distinguished Service Chapter is composed of members of the Fraternity who have been selected in recognition of unusual and outsanding service to the Fraternity. Election is the highest honor awarded by the Fraternity. Membership is determined by unanimous election by the International Executive Board.


Hon. Walter G. Bridges Morgan Chapter 1950 Alabama
Hon. Tom C. Clark Taney Chapter 1941 Texas
Melody Crick Peters Truman Chapter 2001 Washington
Larry J. Crigler Hoffman Chapter 1968 Kentucky
Joseph E. Deems Sammis Chapter 1972 California
Carl E. Dietze Ryan Chapter 1915 Wisconsin
Frank E. Gray Ford Chapter 1943 California
Charles Tom Henderson Brewer Chapter 1926 Florida
J. Derek Hill Hull Chapter 1979 Iowa
Rhonda K. Hill Cole Chapter 1980 Iowa
Don Hutson Jay Chapter 1957 Missouri
Hon. C. Raymond Judice Houston Chapter 1961 Texas
J. Harry LaBrum Taft Chapter 1925 Pennsylvania
John J. McAulay O'Niell Chapter 1965 Lousiana
Hon. Frank J. McCown McKinley Chapter 1963 Ohio
Hon. Richard P. McCully McKellar Chapter 1966 Georgia
Jack L. Miller Benton Chapter 1974 Missouri
Donald R. Moore Taft Chapter 1948 Washington, D.C.
Norman M. Owen Beaumont Chapter 1969 California
Frederic H. Pearson Chase Chapter 1972 New Jersey
Matthew S. "Sandy" Rae Rutledge Chapter 1946 California
Robert E. Redding Taft Chapter 1946 Washington, D.C.
William B. Robertson Taft Chapter 1948 Virginia
Clifford Schechter Wormser Chapter 1979 Nevada
Robert L. Schimmel Rasco Chapter 1978 Florida
Frederick J. Weitkamp Ross Chapter 1951 California
John F. Weitkamp Ford Chapter 1975 California
Hon. Charles E. Whittaker Benton Chapter 1922 Missouri
Ronald Winter Alden Chapter 1978 New York